milk and honey- Rupi Kaur

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur- poetry

Rating: 4.5/5

Book excerpt:

“i want to apologize to all the women

i have called pretty

before i’ve called them intelligent or brave

i am sorry i made it sound as though

something as simple as what you’re born with

is the most you have to be proud of when your

spirit has crushed mountains

from now on i will say things like

you are resilient or you are extraordinary 

not because i don’t think you’re pretty

but because you are so much more than that”

-rupi kaur

 

Thoughts:

Milk and Honey is divided into 4 parts; the hurting, the loving, the breaking, and the healing. I’m not really a huge fan of poetry but I was on Twitter one day and saw an excerpt from the book (the excerpt above is the poem I saw) and I thought it looked pretty good and thought I’d give it a try.  My friend luckily had this book and had already read it and recommended it to me, and I’m glad I read it! I thought the poems in the book were sooo good and deep, they were also kinda relatable. I can really see why people love this book, and the poems were being spread across social media. Not only were the poems suuper good, there were illustrations to go along with most of the poems!! I thought the poems were deep but the images were waay deeper. I read this in under an hour so it’s a really quick read. That’s why I gave it 4.5 instead of a 5 star rating because it was soo quick and I think it would be better if it was longer and not such a quick book. However, I would highly highly recommend reading this book even if you aren’t a fan of poems you should still try it and check it out!

Comment the book you’re currently reading or any recommendations for me! 🙂

xoxo,

Hannah

Leave a comment